Sashing sweatshop

Standard

I am still working on making all the HSTs I need for my sashing! I think it’s totally worth it but I have been living in the HST hinterland (aka sashing sweatshop) for a week straight!

20140424-112352.jpg
My quilt top is fully assembled with two borders now. 🙂 But it needs some more width or it is both too narrow and too short. Whoa is me.
20140424-122944.jpg

I am likely going to need another 200 HSTs for the last element of piecing before moving on to doing the finishing border. This time I’m going to try something fun–curved corners! It takes bias binding but I think I can handle it. I’ll take pics and post about it when I get to that stage!

I don’t know about you, but I love quilt bindings that are different. It’s cool to do something that lends itself to the design in your piecing rather than do a simple straight edge, straight grain binding. I got a bee in my bonnet about this particular look for this quilt because of all the appliqué and the curved bias strip stems on the flowers. Short of doing a full-out scallop, I thought I’d just go ahead and do it this minimalist way.

I am also lusting after my latest acquisitions–two very different jelly rolls. One is Scrumptious by Bonnie and Camille, which is super cute and springy. Then I got a decidedly more masculine jelly roll, Sweet Serenade, by Basic Grey. It’s got more greys, teals, blacks, and some soft neutral strips.

20140424-123009.jpg
I haven’t really secured any ideas in my head about what to make with them. I was thinking about maybe doing a really cute Irish chain pattern that’s got some curves with Scrumptious, but then I got Sweet Serenade and I’m thinking that would make an awesome and unexpected Irish chain.

I find myself thinking about patterns that are unexpected when paired with modern fabrics instead of the usual traditional stuff.

Here’s a traditional looking stars quilt. I made it decidedly modern by using a charcoal grey Kona solid as the background and an urban jelly roll called Bluebird Park by Kate and Birdie.
.

20140424-112021.jpg

20140424-112052.jpg

There’s the very traditional like the double wedding ring. Very beautiful. Nothing wrong with it. But I don’t want my patchwork (or quilting, for that matter) to make the house look like Downton Abbey. I wouldn’t be able to keep a straight face in my own home if I did that! I want it to be modern and loads of fun with texture both visually and physically. I have every intention of making this pattern but I have yet to decide how to go about my palette.

20140424-123045.jpg
That is my CD rack/jumble of saved selvages and jelly roll wraps. It’s one way of going about my palette choice. Each wrap looks neat and has colour ideas on them!

So that’s where I’m at, guys. Lots of piecing and quilting to do!

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

