The Quilted Thimble

Standard

What’s in a name? I thought calling this site Busy Bee was totally me. But it’s not. I mean, I am busy. I have a just-turned-5 daughter, an articling student husband, a jewelry etsy shop, 2 Facebook pages, I’m all over Instagram, Flickr, Pinterest, YouTube, and I suddenly realized I am not blogging.

So here I am. Blogging. I am not a complete n00b at this; I used to have a Live Journal site (do people even use this site anymore?!) and have tried in earnest to get into it with various false starts.

Part of my problem was a name. “What do I call a blog of mine?” The Queen Bee image is a theme I started when my sister and I opened a nail studio, Queen Bee Nail Gallery, 5 years ago. But neither of us had the energy to keep it afloat after the group buying coupon sites hit us. (That’s a story for another day!)

So after closing the shop when the lease ran out I went on to full time jewelry making, which is totally fun. But I’ve run into many folks out there who fancy themselves jewelry designers/makers because they buy everything at outlet stores for cheap. They just weren’t interested in paying for it.

So I turned to my love of quilting and embroidery. I made my first quilts when I was pregnant and have always liked it. Then I took a free Craftsy class–Amy Gibson’s BOM (block of the month) class from 2012. It was such fun that I haven’t put my machine away since!

I’ve sold quilted pillow cases and given many spectacular quilts as gifts that people truly cherish. I love that feeling. It’s just as rewarding as when I hand quilt something. It’s just me, my thread, needle and trusty open top thimble. Suddenly the world fades away and I don’t feel like the image a busy bee connotes: buzzing around trying to collect as much pollen as necessary. No, I’m meditative and at peace. I think that’s important. More important than anything.

2 responses »

  1. Great!! Love it, I kind of went thru the same “make over” but for very different reasons, but I love my life now and do crocheting, beading, sewing, and would love to do quilting too, but don’t have enough hours in the day. I need to become more organized!! I wish I had the huge quilting frame my grandmother had, my grandfather made it for her and you could put a full quilt on it. It’s been gone for many years though. Funny how all of the things that were thought of as “old junk” years ago are now antique collectables now! 🙂

    • Indeed–I think that’s why I took up quilting. It is an old art that most in my family don’t know how to do. I also have a lot of old family furniture that everyone else thinks is junk. I am a custodian of old things and ideas, that’s for sure!

      Thanks for liking my posts!
      Danielle

Leave a Reply

